Postscript

So, something’s been bothering me about my original post.

In it, I said that Martha missed the point when she was with Jesus. And I stand by it. According to Luke’s account in chapter 10, she focused on her worries rather than on Jesus. But…

That was not the end of her story!

John 11 gives us a glimpse into Martha’s life a little further down the road. Her brother Lazarus had died. Though she had asked Jesus to come while Lazarus was sick, Jesus had delayed. But what did she do once He came? She went to meet Him, boldly declaring, “Lord, if You had been here, my brother would not have died. But I know that even now God will give You whatever You ask.” (John 11:21-22, NIV) And in the conversation that followed, she went on to confess her belief that He was “the Christ, the Son of God”. Martha might have missed who Jesus was once, but God gave her another chance, and she didn’t miss Him then!

Martha’s story gives me hope on the days I fail and get caught up in the cares of this world rather than my Savior. Praise God! He understands my weaknesses and gives me mercy and grace (Hebrews 4:14-16). And another chance.

Leave a Reply

